Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Brian Evans

August 4, 2011

1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

A friend and now Denver Crossfit-affiliate owner who worked out at CFCV introduced me to it. I was skeptical at first, but after a couple of WODs I was hooked.

2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

Murph – for me this is the perfect storm of movements in a WOD.  Although my legs are lead for the first quarter of the 2nd mile, this WOD is extremely satisfying.

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

I started in 2009 and it’s the best overall fitness program I have participated in.

4. What do you do for a living?

Associate Athletics Director for Academic Services – Utah State University. My staff and I work with all of our student-athletes regarding their academics, progress toward degree completion, and NCAA eligibility.  Utah State has led the WAC (Western Athletic Conference) in all academic-metrics, including graduation rates, for 6 years running.

5. What are your hobbies?

Fly Fishing, Trail Running (if you consider these hobbies?) and ‘building’ and ‘remodeling’ things.  I’m just finishing up construction of a deck on my house, and recently finished a bathroom renovation and rocked my fireplace.

6. What are your goals?

One, to convince Brad to obtain 16 and 18 pound wall balls (haha); to be more consistent during summer months at the Box;  Improve technique and consistency with double-unders; Get a Muscle Up!; Achieve a balance of strength and endurance to the degree I don’t feel I am sacrificing one for the other;

7. Why do you Crossfit?

Crossfit is a great balance of strength, cardio, and metabolic that, for me, is the almost-perfect balance of fitness.  I compliment XF with trail/running to achieve a perfect balance (for me).  I also enjoy the variety of WODs and movements – every day it’s something different and challenging.  Also, the ‘community’ and camaraderie among Crossfitters adds a nice element to the whole experience.  I’ve developed some good friends and acquaintances through CFCV.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

Just Do It… but be smart about doing it.  Don’t throw more weight than you can physically handle for many reps/rounds; don’t ‘speed’ through the movements – you’ll burn out fast or you may injure yourself by not focusing on form and technique; Compete only against yourself, but be challenged by those around you to improve. Don’t be afraid to scale – Up OR Down.  And, as much as you will hate to, work on your ‘goats’.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

