Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Amy Hamblin

August 1, 2011

1.​ How did you find out about Crossfit?

​Some friends from work started coming right when CFCV opened. I’ve always felt a little lost in a gym, and at the time, was only doing sporadic workout videos like 8-Minute Buns. 🙂 I liked the idea of someone telling me exactly what I needed to do, so when I heard they were doing fun stuff that made them throw up in parking lots, I thought why not give it a try?

2.​ What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

Cindy is the first one that comes to mind – that one really helped me work on some of my goals, and it was a fun one to say I’d actually RX’d. I really do like anything that involves some lifting though too.

3.​ How long have you been Crossfitting for?

​Just over 3 years.

4.​What do you do for a living?

I’m a mom of 3 crazy kids, and I’ve worked for almost 20 years at Cache Title Company.

5.​What are your hobbies?

Crossfit has actually probably turned into one of my favorite hobbies, but I still love reading, playing piano & watching movies. Our families are close so we like to hang out with them or with friends. My real happy place though is the pool. I’m a sun loving girl!

6. What are your goals?

I think people who are runners are so cool and I’d love to get better at that.  Someday I’d love to run even a half marathon just to say I could.  I’ve also very recently decided it’s time for me to quit being so scared of double-unders.  I’m going to be able to do more than one and a half of them ANY minute now!

7. Why do you Crossfit?

Like most people probably, my reasons for Crossfitting have changed since I started.  In the beginning it was primarily to lose weight and to feel like I was doing something more productive than the random video.  Now I Crossfit because I love it.  It’s made me so much more aware of my nutrition (although this has yet to extend all the way to my swedish fish problem), and I really think it helps me feel better not only physically, but mentally.  I still get nervous before most WODs, but I love the satisfaction of finishing them and feeling strong for being able to do so — even if I was dead last.  I really do love having Crossfit as part of my lifestyle, and while there are people who don’t understand that, I just can’t imagine it not being part of my life anymore.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

Crossfit really is for anyone and everyone. I’ve never felt judged or dumb for not being at someone else’s level.  You’ll always get out of it what you put into it, and I love that.  If you want to feel like you can do things you never thought you could before…then Crossfit is for you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jake Hamblin permalink
    August 2, 2011 10:36 am

    What a sexy girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

