Skip to content

Wendi C. on Competition

July 4, 2011

Wendi C.

2010

13th place in the Winter Challenge

10th place in sectionals

39th place in regionals

2011

18th place fitness elevated

99th place sectionals

18th place regionals (team)

3rd Leave No Survivors Competition

Years in CrossFit:

3 years 1 month

Benchmarks:

“Fran” 4:28

“Grace” 2:57

“Jackie” 9:22

“Helen” 11:01

“300” 21:04

Max Power Clean  155#

Max Clean and Jerk 135#

What motivated you to compete in Regionals?

As you can tell, I love competitions J  I have been competing for over a year.  I do competitions because it helps me keep my training on track as well as practice movements that I could improve on (OHS) or movements I haven’t done before (HSPU).  I was very excited when I was able to compete with a team!!  It was different than competing individually, it was nice to depend on others as well as yourself. 

How did your performance go in the workouts? (if team, what wods did you do?)

On day 1 of regionals, I did the 750 meter row, 50 handstand push-ups, 750 meter row (team wod).  I really enjoyed this workout.  I was able to get 5 HSPU’s my first time, and finish with 3 HSPU (I had been practicing these for 2 two weeks before the competitionJ.  I also had my best split time on the last 750 meters!!

On day 2 of regionals, I participated in the 250’s workout (250 chest to bar pull ups, 250 kb swings, 250 double unders, 250 over head squats).  This one was a lot of fun.  Our team took turns doing all the movements.  I was able to do chest to bar pull ups unbroken, 66 double unders in a row and I strung 15 OHS together each time it was my turn (I was really happy about my performance on OHS). 

What do you take away from this experience?

  1. Competing is really fun.
  2. Competing on a team is different than competing individually (you can rely on others to help you get through the workout rather than just yourself).
  3. Competing in general helps you to push yourself to do things you thought you never could do (in my case HSPU’s). 

Anything else you’d like people to know about competing in CF?

If you are interested in pushing yourself to a different level, then you should try competing.  It gives you the opportunity to practice movements you’ve never done or may have done but need improvement on.  It also gives you the chance to show yourself what you are capable of, and to see what other people are capable of and how you can be improving yourself.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

