Skip to content

Chelsea F. on Competing

June 26, 2011

Chelsea Funk

51st at 2011 CrossFit Open

25th at 2011 CrossFit Southwest Regional

Years in CrossFit:

almost 3 years

What motivated me to compete in Regional’s?

I knew that I needed to step it up a notch in my workouts. I had gotten myself in shape, changed my eating habits, but needed something else to drive me, to push me to new limits personally. Last year when a few friends from our box went to regional’s, I thought it sounded way fun, but also wasn’t sure it was for me.  I needed something to work towards, so I set new goals. I have always loved competition and needed something that was only up to me, that I was the only one that could achieve my goal! I also wanted to be an example to my kids that if you set a goal through hard work, it is achievable.

How did my performance go in the workouts and what did I take away from this experience?

Don’t get me wrong I had the pre race butterflies like crazy.   But my goal was to not finish dead last.  I knew I could complete each movement, but could I do it in the amount of time given? Not to mention who I was competing against. That little voice in my head was telling me these women our in the top of our region, these are the girls that I admire. I had to shake it off, I was also in the top of our region and I deserved to be here! So just like most competitions I have done, once the first event was over, things got a little bit easier, and I didn’t finish dead last, I was 25th out of 28 girls. I did my very best, I even completed some workouts that a few girls didn’t even finish. I left everything I had out there that weekend and that’s all that matters. 

I also learned a lot about myself and how setting a goal and achieving it, is the best feeling in the world. I did have to put in a lot of training and at one point my kids claimed that I loved CrossFit more than them.   But I had to keep reminding myself that it was what I had set a goal to do 1 year ago and I was so close.  No one else could get me through this but myself.  

There is something about CrossFit competitions that is so different than any other race that I have done.  I didn’t even finish the first event, in fact I was nearly last, but during my handstand push ups, some of the girls that had finished before me were coaching me and trying to get me to go faster.  The energy that you feel is amazing, everyone cheering for you that you don’t even know. They wanted me to complete the workout and they didn’t care if I was their competitor.   

I choose to compete because I need something to push me just a bit harder when I walk into CrossFit; I needed a goal to strive for. Competing is not for everyone, I will honestly say that it does take time and sometimes training by yourself. But step out of your comfort zone, set a goal and work towards something. It is not just one workout and 20 minutes in the gym, sometimes there are 2 or 3 training session in preparation for something like this. You need to build strength by increasing your weights, putting in the extra time and work on your weaknesses.  You have to decide on the quality of  your training and the commitment level you are willing to give.  Step out of your comfort zone. (“It is just a wall”) You have to start somewhere and I am so grateful that I did.  Yes I will compete again! I have come away knowing what I need to work on, where my strengths and weaknesses are. But I also know that I can compete at this level and I will! 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    June 27, 2011 5:10 pm

    Bad ass! Ya done a good job. C’mon!

  2. June 27, 2011 6:32 pm

    C’mown!

  3. mindee permalink
    June 27, 2011 9:44 pm

    You are amazing!

  4. Jami permalink
    June 28, 2011 7:49 pm

    Chels, you are awesome! Thanks for being so inspiring to women like me 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Team CVSC’s Emily B. on Regionals & Competition «
  2. Team CVSC’s Emily B. on Regionals & Competition | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning
  3. 2012 Regionals Reflection: Chad S., Gil H., Chels F. «
  4. 2012 Regionals Reflection: Chad S., Gil H., Chels F. | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning

Leave a Reply

