Skip to content

Tara A. on Regionals & Competition

June 22, 2011

Tara A.

Years in CrossFit:

3

What motivated you to compete in Regionals?

I figured I would be doing the WODS whether I competed or not so… what the heck… lets see how I can do:)

How did you performance go in the workouts? ..if team, what wods did you do?

Team WOD #1:
Row 750
50 Handstand Push ups
Row 750Team WOD #3:
21-15-9
Dead lifts (#185)
Box Jumps (24″)

I was happy with my performances in both wods.  I am not the biggest fan of rowing and I had never done handstand push ups in a WOD before so I was a little nervous going into it but just told myself… If I saw this WOD on a regular day at crossfit I would think nothing of it and would just try my best.  So that’s what I did.  I think my split time on my first row was the best time I have ever rowed and my second row was what I thought I would get.  So I was happy.  For WOD #3, I knew the dead lifts were going to be a little hard but box jumps I would fly threw.  So that’s what I did.  I paced myself in the dead lift and went as fast as I could in my box jumps.  It was a lot of fun… especially trying to not let the beast in front of me beat me!!!

What do you take away from this experience?

I learned that there are MANY areas in my training that I need to be working on but also that Crossfit is FUN!  Yes, there are people who are competing in the games to claim the title of fittest man/woman but… for many of us, we are just trying to enjoy the experience of competition.  

Anything else you’d like people to know about competing in CF?

Try it!  Like I always tell my classes… your the ones that showed up today so whether or not your performance is good it will always be better then all the other people who didn’t come today.  Same goes with competing… the results don’t matter… what matters is you putting yourself out there and trying!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jami permalink
    June 23, 2011 7:09 pm

    Tara…you are truly an inspirational crossfitter!! I LOVE your attitude and you are an absolute blast to work out with! Keep doing what your doing 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Team CVSC’s Emily B. on Regionals & Competition | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning

Leave a Reply

