Skip to content

Why I Competed – Nate R. on Regionals

June 19, 2011

Nate R.

Years in Crossfit:

About 18 months

Benchmarks:

Fran 2:53

What motivated you to compete in Regionals?:

The atmosphere of competitions are a lot of fun and I wanted to experience what Crossfit competition is like.  Training to compete just adds another element of motivation to my general fitness goals; it’s really just about achieving my full potential and a competition is a good barometer of where I’m at and what I need to work on.  Seeing the elite athletes in the Crossfit community perform was another reason I wanted to go.

How did your performance go in the workouts?  If team, what WODs did you do?

I competed with the team.  I was part of the 750 meter row and handstand push-up workout on the first day; on the second day I was part of the 250’s workout consisting of ctb pull-ups, kb swings, double-unders and overhead squat.  The workouts were definitely challenging but a lot of fun; they exposed some weaknesses I have such as ctb pull-ups. Overall I was proud of our effort and it was really cool to see everyone getting so involved in rallying each other to go as hard as possible.

What do you take away from this experience?

First of all, the atmosphere was awesome.  More than anything, I took from this experience a huge boost of motivation to overcome my weaknesses as a Crossfitter. I don’t have delusions about winning the Crossfit Games some day, because I have other priorities in life that will always come before competing, but after going to Colorado with the team, I believe I can be part of a successful Crossfit team that can compete with the best.

Anything else you’d like people to know about competing in Crossfit?

I think it’s important not to take something like competing in Crossfit too seriously; at the end of the day I think most people get involved with Crossfit to live a fit lifestyle, so appreciate that and know the personal progress you make is what counts.  Just think of competing as a fun way to be recognized for the hard work you’ve put into your training, C’mon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2011 1:16 am

    you done good..c’mon!

  2. chris funk permalink
    June 20, 2011 11:26 pm

    You did a good job…now get it done C’mown.

Leave a Reply

