Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Barbara Kerkmann

May 1, 2011
1. How did you find out about Crossfit?
My son-in-law was introduced to Crossfit in South Carolina and he and my daughter started several years ago. He is now a level I instructor. I tagged along to their workouts when I visited them out there. In spite of my daughter’s urging I did not pursue it here, until she learned about a Saturday workshop for Triathletes at CFCV. She must have spent a lot of time on your website.
2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?
I have no particular favorite, but love the variety of workouts. I have not become bored yet. I love the feeling of completing a tough workout, after I was not sure I could do it, when I first looked at the board. I did enjoy watching my then 2 year old grandaughter do burpees and kettle bell swings.
3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?
I started crossfitting almost exactly a year ago, the end of April 2010.
4. What do you do for a living?
I am a Marriage and Family Therapist for LDS Family Services. Yes, you read right, I am a shrink. I even have a couch in my office. Unfortunately it is not long enough to lie on, you can only sit on it.
5. What are your hobbies?
Cycling, swimming, running – triathlon. I recently started dabbling at rock climbing . I love to read historical and other fiction. I enjoy travelling  and enjoy road trips with family members – no better way to talk uninterrupted. Lately our destinations have been half marathons (Disney, Huntington Beach) and visits with family – the latest one to my daughter in Bonners Ferry Idaho.
6. What are your goals?
Specifically I would like to master double unders to the extent that I can do more than three without having to rest. I also would like to learn how to do pull ups. In general I would like to increase strength and stamina.
7. Why do you Crossfit?
I watched my husband die with Oxygen under his nose and taking a handful of pills several times a day. I realized that pills are not the answer. So I started running and ran my first marathon at age 50. I was able to stop bloodpressure and cholesterol meds. I thought I was set. Then, in the fall of 2009, while training for my second Half Ironman, I gained weight in spite of exercising by the hour and developed exercise induced Asthma,my blood pressure was creeping up too.  Since my daughter talked me into trying Crossfit, I am off all meds and have dropped some weight too.  All of that in under an hour a day.
8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?
Try it, you’ll like it. Do the WOD one movement at a time instead of looking at at the whole thing at once. And keep at it, it does get easier.  At first it may seem daunting, but if a 56 year old mother of seven and grandma of nine can do it, anybody can.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna permalink
    May 1, 2011 12:58 pm

    Inspirational!!! I love the motivation you have for try new things!! thanks

  2. Shannon permalink
    May 1, 2011 3:03 pm

    Wow, started running and your first marathon at 50?! You’re my hero!

  3. May 2, 2011 8:51 pm

    Nice Job, Barbara! Keep it up!

Trackbacks

  1. Beauty In Strength Challenge – 5.0 «

Leave a Reply

