Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Beth Nivison

April 24, 2011

1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

A couple of friends of mine started going and couldn’t quit talking about how great it was.   I was in a rut and after having two children, lets just say I was in less than optimal physical shape. I decided to give it a try and was immediately hooked!

 2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

Anything Tabata because I’m a teamwork kind of gal and Filthy Fifty because it makes me feel super tough!

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

This month is my two year anniversary at CrossFit Cache Valley!  I have never stuck with any other exercise program for this long and I can’t see myself ever quitting! 

4. What do you do for a living?

I am a stay at home mom.  I have two boys, Miles, 8 and Lucas, 5.          

5. What are your hobbies?

I have recently discovered that I actually enjoy running.  I think the farthest I had ever run was a mile prior to starting Crossfit. Six months after joining, I completed my first half marathon in Seattle.  This is still mind boggling for me as I used to think walking to my mailbox was a chore!   I also like to make things with clay, camp and travel.

6. What are your goals?

Rx everything!  Become a Paleo nut again like I used to be.  Truth be told, the diet kicks butt and the only time I knock it is when I’m unable to stick to it. Ha! Participate in a Crossfit event.  Master the double under and last but not least, CONSISTENCY!

 7. Why do you Crossfit?

It makes me a better person body, mind and spirit.  It’s quick and extremely effective.  My quality of life is constantly improving.  I notice the results in my everyday life such as, I used to consider mowing my lawn a two day project and now I don’t stop until it’s finished!  I can say to my husband “check out my muscles” and get an eyebrow raise every time!  I love the people I work out with!!!!  You know who you are 9:15ers! CrossFit Cache Valley has taught me and made me believe, that I can do anything I set my mind to!

8. Any advice for future Crossfitters?

It’s impossible to verbalize how wonderful this program is, so you must come and figure it out for yourself!  You can do it! Lose the self doubt and get busy living!


7 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris and Chelsea Funk permalink
    April 24, 2011 9:26 pm

    Beth you are a true motivation to us all! Keep up the great work!

  2. Shanell permalink
    April 25, 2011 10:56 am

    Beth, you are so awesome and definitely one of the reasons that I keep going to CF! You have come so far (pull-ups!!)and bring such great energy to the workouts, I want to be you when I grow up. Keep working hard!

  3. April 25, 2011 9:15 pm

    Awesome, Beth! Thanks for the energy you bring to CFCV!

  4. Sarah permalink
    April 26, 2011 10:32 am

    I love working out with you Beth! You bring a different kind of energy and you are always pushing me to new levels. Thanks for being an inspiration to us all!

  5. Beth Nivison permalink
    April 26, 2011 9:02 pm

    Thanks for all the awesome comments! You all freaking rock! Case and point, this is why I dig my gym!

  6. Jami permalink
    April 27, 2011 7:24 am

    I love the 9:15ers as well!! Beth, you are awesome!

  7. Beth F ("the other Beth") permalink
    April 29, 2011 2:44 pm

    When I met you I assumed you had always been an incredible athlete! I loved reading your story. Thanks for your inspiration and infectious energy!

Leave a Reply

