Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Bretton Hadfield

April 17, 2011
1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

My friend suggested we check out Crossfit Cache valley because his wife is a member there. But I didn’t go until I talked with Jen Luman and saw her results. I went in the day after I talked with her.
.
2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

I really like rowing and learning to work with barbells.  I like the variation that we get every day.  It may not be an exercise, but good nutrition has become a habit for me as well.
3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

Eight months.
.
4. What do you do for a living?

As an attorney and part owner at my law firm, Peck Hadfield Baxter & Moore, I represent clients with serious injuries, clients who have experienced the wrongful death of a loved one, and clients in estate disputes.  I also assist clients with asset protection, estate planning and business matters (contracts, setting up businesses, etc.).
.
5. What are your hobbies?

I like sports and outdoors activities.  I do a lot of bass fishing and I hold bass tournaments.  I like bowling, hunting, biking, golf, running and competitive sports.  I really enjoy coaching youth soccer and football.  I like vacationing with family, reading and writing.  Crossfit. 🙂
6. What are your goals?

Right now I want to PR everything I do — continual improvement.  I’d like to get muscle ups and handstand push ups.  I’d like to give Ragnar a go.  Continuing good nutritional habits is important to me.
.
7. Why do you Crossfit?

Crossfit is assisting me to reach my fitness goals.  I’ve done other things, including training for and running a marathon, that have not given me near the results that I’ve had through Crossfit.
Also, I had two major leg surgeries within the last three years including an ACL reconstruction that was complicated by scar tissue that had to be scoped. That process shriveled my left quad.  The functional movements in Crossfit have been the best possible physical therapy.  I’m happy to have rebuilt my left quad from basically nothing.
.
8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

What works for me: keep showing up.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2011 8:10 am

    Bretton, I dig your enthusiasm! Congratulations on your accomplishments!

Trackbacks

  1. Eat WELL, Play BETTER, Feel your BEST «

Leave a Reply

