Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Ashley Summers

March 30, 2011

1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

From my little sister, Wendi.  She is a trainer at CrossFit Cache Valley.

2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

Some of the movements that I like are box jumps (I started out 11 months ago only being able to jump on 2 weights stacked.  Now I can jump onto the tall box), double unders, and sit-ups (I’ve told Brad he needs to add a section on the “RX Board” for “Chix who can do sit-ups…because it’s the only movement I can RX)

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

I started about 11 months ago.

4. What do you do for a living?

I get to stay home with my three little girls.  Grace is 5, Caroline is 3, and Chloe is 17 months.

5. What are your hobbies?

LOVE to quilt.  I love piecing material together to create quilts, tablerunners, etc.  I am learning how to machine quilt.  I love to scrapbook, make cards, grow and harvest my garden (I love canning all of the produce from my garden in the fall), yard work and mowing my lawn.  Basically anything with my hands.

6. What are your goals?

I stopped setting goals when my third child arrived.  I figure if you don’t have a plan, there’s nothing to be upset about if nothing gets accomplished.  Just kidding, kind of… I guess my main goal is to be a good mom and teach my girls all I can while they’ll still listen to me.  🙂

7. Why do you Crossfit?

The first time I went to crossfit I told Wendi I would give it a go for one month and see if I liked it.  I have joined a few gyms over the past 10 years and been dilligent for about 2 months and then stopped going while continuing to pay the monthly fee.  With Crossfit I am excited to go almost every morning and I don’t get sick of it.  I have also loved it because I have seen some amazing results in a short time.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

I guess the main reason I like the CrossFit atmosphere is because people don’t judge you.  You show up, do your thing and go home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. KimA permalink
    March 31, 2011 8:58 am

    Ashley, glad you’re hooked on Crossfit too! Keep up the great work!

  2. Jami permalink
    March 31, 2011 7:54 pm

    Way to go Ash!! And congrats on Rx’ing those sit-ups 🙂 you are awesome!

Leave a Reply

