Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Amanda Wheatley

February 20, 2011
1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

I found out about Crossfit through my brother who had just joined. His excitement about it had me curious so I had to come check it out for myself. I was hooked the first day!

2. What is your favorite Crossfit Exercise or WOD?

When I first started coming I had set a goal to complete the filthy fifty in the allowed time of thirty five minutes. I had a lot of adrenaline running through me as I completed the workout it was rough but I loved the feeling of accomplishment!

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

I started Crossfit in January 2010 and I can not stop. I love it! Thankfully my husband is very supportive and is willing to continue to pay for my addiction to Crossfit.

4. What do you do for a living?

I am a stay at home mom to four wonderful children who keep me going all day and night. Crossfit helps me start my day off right so I can come home and give my kids and husband what they need so they too can have a great day.

5. What are your hobbies?

Hobbies? Its hard to have to many hobbies when your always taking care of kids. When there is time, I do enjoy waterskiing, bike riding, (anything outdoors) spending time with family, I like to scrapbook and do crafts.

6. What are your goals?

I just recently started getting doubles down with the jump rope. My next goal is to do a pull up, become a better runner, and crack down on my nutrition.

7. Why do you Crossfit?

I believe in the program and know that it works. It has changed me in so many ways, physically, mentally, and emotionally. I have become so much stronger as a person in all of those areas. I love the coaching and the support that I get every time I walk into Crossfit. I love the challenge of pushing myself harder then I ever thought I could be pushed and being so proud at the end of a workout. That feeling is addicting!

8. Any advice for future Crossfitters?

Crossfit is for anyone and everyone. There are no requirements and I love that. Its all you and what you put into it. If you love the challenge you will love Crossfit.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 8:16 pm

    You are inspiring, Amanda! Keep up the awesome work!

  2. Jami permalink
    February 21, 2011 9:18 am

    Nice Amanda!! With as hard as you train, you’ll meet your goals in no time 🙂

  3. Shanell permalink
    February 21, 2011 8:33 pm

    You are awesome and look amazing! Good work, Amanda!

  4. February 24, 2011 10:58 am

    congrats on achieving your first pull up amanda! ..never stop doing, keep talking for sure, but never stop doing!

  5. Shannon Clemens permalink
    February 25, 2011 10:03 am

    Amanda is an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

