Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Amy Croft

January 23, 2011

1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

My husband told me about Crossfit.  He said a friend of his was opening a gym and mentioned that he might give it a go.  I jumped right in but have yet to see my husband try it!

2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

My favorite WOD is the 300 and I love to lift.

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

I started Crossfit in July 2008.

4. What do you do for a living?

I wear a few different hats.  I am working to finish my Ph.D. in Ecology, I teach Biology labs at USU, and I work as an environmental consultant.

5. What are your hobbies?

Many of my hobbies involve exercise (Crossfit, marathons, half marathons, relays, triathlons, hiking, and biking).  I enjoying camping, especially in the desert, and I love to garden.  I am the mother of a very active 6 year old and enjoy watching whatever activity he is involved in.  I love to be with my family and am generally happy when we are all doing something together.  We have also started fostering puppies for 4-Paws Rescue.  The puppies and our 3 dogs bring a lot of smiles to our faces.

6. What are your goals?

My main goal is to finish my Ph.D.  I usually have too many goals on my plate, but at the moment this is the only one I am allowing time for (NO FUN!!!).  I look forward to the relief I will feel once this is completed.  Another large goal that is always at the back of my mind is cleaning up my diet.  I know this is key to making advancements in my training.

7. Why do you Crossfit?

My reasons for Crossfitting tend to change over time.  When I started it was for health and a change of routine.  I continue to Crossfit because I love it.  It makes me feel great mentally and physically and I have met a lot of wonderful people through CFCV.  At the moment I Crossfit to relieve stress.  I know that by simply walking through the door and doing the WOD that I am doing something good for myself and I know that it will make me feel energized for the rest of the day.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

Jump in!  I know that Crossfit can be intimidating when you are unfamiliar with it but it won’t take long until you know the lingo and are addicted to the workouts and community.  Crossfit is for everyone.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 10:06 am

    Amy, you are such an inspiration for so many CFCV athletes! Thanks and keep up the great work! Love Ya!

  2. jen permalink
    January 23, 2011 12:32 pm

    Amy you are so awesome! Keep up the good work!

  3. Shannon permalink
    January 23, 2011 10:11 pm

    Go Amy!!

  4. Tana permalink
    January 24, 2011 12:00 pm

    You really are a great example and someone I’m glad I know. You’ll do great in ALL your goals!

  5. Amy C permalink
    January 25, 2011 5:04 pm

    Thanks for the kind words!

  6. Shanell permalink
    January 26, 2011 1:46 pm

    You are so awesome, Amy! You make everyone feel comfortable and motivated by your great example.
    I love it when you come to the fun morning class. =)

Trackbacks

  1. Beauty In Strength Challenge – 5.0 «
  2. Beauty In Strength Challenge – 5.0 | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning
  3. CVSC Committed Athlete – Kelly Kopp | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning
  4. CVSC Committed Athlete – Kelly Kopp «
  5. CVSC at Leave No Survivors «
  6. CVSC at Leave No Survivors | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning

Leave a Reply

