Skip to content

Beauty In Strength Challenge

April 3, 2010

Just a reminder that the box will be closed tomorrow.  Go spend time with your family..rest and celebrate the true meaning of Easter!

Here are some thoughts from the 1st and second place female winners. We will have before and after pictures posted on Monday. Congratulations again to all who participated and are bettering themselves.

“I started Crossfit the first of January and I have been loving it! I love the feeling of accomplishment each time I finish the workout. It is such a high for me. I have done several different programs trying to lose weight, get healthy and become more fit so I can enjoy life more with my family. Some things became very monotonous and burned me out with not much of a change to my body or the way I felt about myself. The change that Crossfit has made for me has been awesome! It pushes me to limits that I would have never of thought was possible. It has made me physically stronger, but more importantly it has made me mentally stronger! I am grateful to the trainers, to those that I workout with and to my workout buddy who is always teaching me to be strong and endure through it. I have learned a lot about exercise and nutrition since I’ve joined Crossfit and I look forward to the next challenge!” – Amanda Wheatley (1st place female winner of the 2010 winter Beauty In Strength Challenge)

“My entire life I have struggled with my weight and bad eating habits. Over the past few years due to some health issues and a lot of excuses I had become inactive, miserable, depressed and overweight. I had tried every fad diet imaginable trying to get the weight off and they just weren’t working. My self-esteem and health were at an all time low and I was about ready to give up. Then six months ago I decided to try Crossfit as a last resort. I still remember my first day, that newbie workout proved to me just how out of shape I had become. I was sitting on the ground trying to catch my breath, watching the class do the daily WOD, and thinking how in the world am I ever going to be able to do that. I’ll admit it after that first day I seriously considered running not walking out that door and never coming back. I honestly didn’t think I would ever be able to get through those workouts and would just end up embarrassing myself. Then Brad and Taylor came over and told me not to worry that everyone had to start somewhere and I would get stronger. That kind of attitude is one of the things I love most about the Crossfit environment, the trainers and other athletes will always push you to be the best you can be but never once have I ever felt judged or criticized. That’s why I went back to The Box the next day and the next. I’m not going to lie it hasn’t been an easy road and it definitely wasn’t a “quick fix”. But the results have been amazing! I went from scaled workouts to being able to do the full workouts in decent time. I have found that I have a competitive athletic side that wants to be the strongest and fastest I can. Through competitions like the Beauty and Strength Challenge the trainers have helped me change my eating habits so now I’m giving my body the fuel it needs and learning that healthy food can actually be pretty tasty J. In six months I’ve dropped five pant sizes and countless inches and pounds. But more importantly my health, attitude and energy level have dramatically improved. I’m doing things that I never dreamed I would be able to do. I still have a long way to go and a lot of goals I want to accomplish but I’ve finally found something that works for me. Prior to Crossfit I had always hated exercise and now I’m addicted and can’t imagine my life without it. So I just want to say Thanks to Brad, Tay and Jack words can’t express how much your training and support has changed my life.” – Tori Jackson (2nd place female winner of the 2010 winter Beauty In Strength Challenge)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Croft permalink
    April 5, 2010 9:13 am

    Congrats! I am glad to hear that you are happy! Thanks for being an inspiration to the rest of us!

  2. Shannon permalink
    April 5, 2010 10:52 am

    What an inspirational story, Tori!

Trackbacks

  1. CFCV BIS Challenge Version 3.50 «

Leave a Reply

