Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Derek Pinnock

February 25, 2010

1. How did you find out about Crossfit?

A friend of mine knew Brad was returning to Logan to open a “new” gym.  After watching the 300 workout on youtube, I knew I had to join.  This was coincidentally at about the same time that I hit 300 pounds and decided that my diet of Doritos, Dr. Pepper, and donuts had to go.

2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD?

My favorite exercise is the kettlebell.  Those heavy and ugly things give an awesome workout and strengthen the core like nothing else. 

My favorite WOD is Murph.  I have only done it a few times but it is the hardest WOD imaginable.  The sense of accomplishment when I finished the first time was overwhelming, it was the longest I had worked out in my life.  (Thanks to Jen and Tracee for pushing me to go for the full Murph.)  The Murph, like so many other WODs at CF, is an angry fight between the body’s will to survive (quit) and the mind’s will to overcome pain and fatigue to finish (win). 

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for?

20 months.  At first it was just Brad and I in the box at 4:00, there are a few more of us at that class now.  

4. What do you do for a living?

I work in the sales department for Wescor, a biomedical products manufacturing company, located in Logan. 

5. What are your hobbies?

CF is my hobby – no way could I have anticipated that two years ago.

6. What are your goals?

Get down to 240 pounds by September; 10 double-unders in a row, 28 minute 5k, and 30 honest pushups in a row by years end.

7. Why do you Crossfit?

I joined CF because I needed a change in my lifestyle.  The variation of the WODs helped me progress and continue to motivate me to attend class.  Because there is always room for improvement, CF motivates me to push myself to be better no matter how many times I have done a given exercise or WOD.  It is hard to imagine not going to CF.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?

There is a place for everybody at CF – no matter your body type, strength, or ability – leave behind any anxiety or ego you have when you walk in the door and go to work.  Follow the instructions from the coaches on technique and weights.  Don’t worry about whether you finished first or last – just sit there for a minute while you recover from the first WOD and think about how fortunate you are to be apart of CF. 

Derek Pinnock
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    February 26, 2010 1:22 pm

    Derek, you are awesome! Now you just have to get Tracee back in the box to work out with us!

  2. Destry P permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:35 pm

    That’s by big bro!!! What a STUD!
    Thanks for getting me involved in CF Derek.
    BTW – that 28 min 5k is gonna happen this year

Leave a Reply

