Skip to content

Athlete Spotlight – Chelsea Funk

January 22, 2010

Chelsea Funk - Fitness Elevated 2010

1. How did you find out about Crossfit Cache Valley? I read about it in a newspaper article. At the time I was looking for a gym or something new to motivate me into a routine I guess you could say. I had a great friend that also saw the newspaper article and had heard about Crossfit she suggested that we try it out.  So we did and we haven’t stopped.

2. What is your favorite Crossfit exercise or WOD? I would have to say Cindy but I also like the longer workouts that really test your endurance along with skill. The ones that you really don’t think you are going to make it under the 30 min cap but when you do you think Wow I really did that. 

3. How long have you been Crossfitting for? 1 year and about 4 months.

4. What do you do for a living?  That is a really funny question!!!   I am married to a great guy, a mother to 4 amazing kids,  chauffeur, referee, maid, cook ……….

5. What are your hobbies? Watching my kids play in any of there sports, camping with family and friends, and Crossfit, it makes me happy and a better mom, wife and person.

6. What are your goals?  My main goal this year is to help my family make healthier eating habits. Changing there eating habits so that in the long run they will enjoy a healthier lifestyle.  I would like to compete in a triathlon and of course there is the Crossfit goals of being able to do “real” double unders, butterfly pull ups and know the name and correct form of each lift.  (Ha Ha)

7. Why do you Crossfit?  I have a slight obsession.  Who wouldn’t? CrossFit has changed my life and my families. Everyone hears me say this all the time but really it has.  I have lost over 50 lbs, gained muscle where I did not know existed and am doing exercises that I didn’t even think was possible a year ago, even 6 months ago. Crossfit is an amazing program that will test not only your body physically but also mentally.  What is so great about the Crossfit workouts is you never know what to expect. You are doing something completely different each day. Also I have made some great friends.

8. Any advice for future CrossFitters?     Just try it!  No where else are you going to find a “gym” that will test your physical and mental abilities each and everyday. Doing different movements everyday at Crossfit keeps you excited to come back for more. You never know what to expect. You will  be amazed at how much stronger and better you feel and look within just a few weeks. You also won’t  find someone that cares as much about your well being as the trainers at Crossfit Cache Valley. They are an amazing group of people.  You have to start somewhere and I promise that Crossfit Cache Valley is the right place for you!

Watch Chelsea at the 2010 Utah Winter Fitness Challenge – Fitness Elevated doing WOD #2 on Vimeo.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. KimA permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:03 pm

    Chelsea you ROCK!!

  2. HeatherD permalink
    January 25, 2010 1:31 pm

    YOU GO GIRL!!!

Trackbacks

  1. On Her Way to Regionals «
  2. Athlete Spotlight – Dennis Parry «
  3. Athlete Spotlight – Dennis Parry | Cache Valley Strength & Conditioning

Leave a Reply

